Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Amibroker FAQ

Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Posts
116
Reactions
0
I find this part of Amibroker a little irritating. Navigating the chart shouldn't be cumbersome.

If Captain Black's idea of using an independent window wasn't what you were looking for, try this - If you move the mouse cursor over to the scale on the right of the chart the cursor will turn into a double headed arrow. Hold down the shift key and drag the mouse. it will change the scale of the volume pane. Effectively zooming in.

Unfortunately when you change the scale it uses the middle of the chart as the reference point. So you then have to release the shift key and drag the volume scale up to get the zero level back on the screen. You can also double click on the scale to reset it to normal.

The reason I don't like using an independent window for the volume chart is that zooming in on either window means the volume bars no longer line up with the price bars.

If anyone knows how to change the volume scale while keeping the zero point fixed at the bottom of the screen please let me know.
Try this snippet of code:

scalingVolumeHeight = Param( "1/n Volume Height", 5, -1, 10, .05 );
Plot( Volume, "", color, styleHistogram|styleownscale, scalingVolumeHeight);
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Posts
116
Reactions
0
Thanks for that.

I am also trying to work out how to create any multiple of the MA on my volume chart e.g. 0.5x MA of volume, 2 x MA of volume etc.

Thanks
Is the volume in the same pane as the price chart or in its own pane?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Posts
34
Reactions
0
Can Amibroker help generate stocks which have risen during the day simply showing you statistics on Stocks which have risen at the end of the trading day ?

thanks
 

IFocus

You are arguing with a Galah
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Posts
5,084
Reactions
1,604
There are several downloaders that save data in Metastock format and permit it to be manually modified.
I get data in MS and use AB, my old downloader will no longer look at MS files must be a different version is there any other way to modify say volume for a set day on a stock?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Posts
3,300
Reactions
30
I do I create/use a bar that doesn't have the opening price only the close? (for VSA Analysis)?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Posts
10
Reactions
0
Hey guys,

has anyone got real time data working with ASX stocks running through amibroker?

ive tried it with my etrade pro DDE but it wont work for a number of reasons,

i am willing to pay a small monthly fee for it but trying to not have to pay for 2 DDE feeds :)

Cheers
Jon
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Posts
10
Reactions
0
annd while i'm here i am having trouble converting daysince1900 back into a proper date formatt IE "13/5/2011", without clogging u with the whole formula basicly i have the following

x = DaysSince1900();
fut1 = x +144;

then when i was to display it

Title = EncodeColor(colorWhite)+ Date() + " Tick = " + EncodeColor(5) +Interval()+
EncodeColor( colorWhite) +"--Future Dates--"+"\n"+
EncodeColor( colorWhite) + "+144 = " + EncodeColor(47)+ fut1 + " " +"\n"+;


just if fut1 could be displayed in a readable formatt


thanks heaps
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Posts
3,300
Reactions
30
In response to the reply about the short horizontal line, when I drag it to my chart it changes my chart to a candlestick chart!

Is there any simple way to insert a shirt horizontal line on my chart?
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Posts
54
Reactions
0
Hey guys,

has anyone got real time data working with ASX stocks running through amibroker?

ive tried it with my etrade pro DDE but it wont work for a number of reasons,

i am willing to pay a small monthly fee for it but trying to not have to pay for 2 DDE feeds :)

Cheers
Jon
I've signed up with Premium Data for EOD for six months. Their GUI for update program is dated back to 90's but either than that it works just fine. You also get major indecies updates with ASX EOD. Costs about $33 a month (I think)
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Posts
54
Reactions
0
Folks,

Does anyone know how to make the charts snap onto the same date. For example, if I'm looking at daily on 9/12/2002, once I swith to monthly the graph moves away and I'm forced to scroll. Is there a function that can "freeze" the graph at the same date for daily, monthly and weekly?

Also what are the interval links for? If someone can provide a link so I can read it at my leasure time

Cheers,
 

Wysiwyg

Everyone wants money
Joined
Aug 8, 2006
Posts
8,424
Reactions
262
Hey guys,
has anyone got real time data working with ASX stocks running through amibroker?
You need some way to back fill quotes too. Like from your last quotes when Amibroker was opened.

I advertised on Freelancer.com for a DDE server script like the set up with Forex Meta Trader platform but received no takers. I tried QuoteTracker but it updates prices every 20 seconds one at a time so not live and the more stocks (over 100) the slower it is.

It can't be that hard surely to connect to real time (instant) price data for the whole exchange. I believe even Interactive Brokers throttles backfill such ...

  1. supports upto 100 streaming symbols in real time (equal to IB TWS limit)
  2. supports all base time intervals: 15-,5-,1-minute, 15-,5-second, tick
  3. automatic connection (no need to manually "accept incoming connection" in TWS)
  4. supports upto 30 (180*) DAYS intraday data BACKFILL in 1-minute bar interval
  5. upto 2000 bars backfill using 1-sec/5-sec/15-second bar intervals
  6. works on all 32-bit Windows versions
* 180 days backfill may be slow due to IB throttling the backfill requests
and limited to 100 stocks. What the. :eek:


My simple direct data exchange (or Plug-in) requirements to Amibroker =

a) The whole ASX list
b) Real time, live, instant feed
c) At least 1 week of 1 minute backfill for the whole ASX list reasonably fast (don't want to have to log in 2 hours before market opens to backfill)

Some clever computer technician could make a business from this as there would be many Amibroker users that would buy the setup or pay a small monthly fee.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Posts
370
Reactions
0
Hi guys,

I want to have a buy condition in my system of:

Only buy if the sector EMA of a stock is rising.

Any ideas on how to code that in AFL? Best I can do is foreign in a sector index like XMJ and only backtest on materials stocks, is there a way to reference to the sector the stock belongs to?

I have premium data.
 

Similar threads

Top