• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Amibroker FAQ

Discussion in 'Software and Data' started by RichKid, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. pavilion103

    pavilion103

    Posts:
    3,293
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    I've just closed the pane with that chart in it and have lost all the analysis I've done (e.g. trend lines, text etc.....)
    Is there any way to get that back?
    How do I save future analysis? What folder is the current one saved in?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. pavilion103

    pavilion103

    Posts:
    3,293
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    One final question.

    With the bottom chart. How do I have the price numbers (scale) on the right side of the side of the chart but without the horizontal dotted lines going across the chart?

    Thanks

    pane.png
     
  3. colion

    colion

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    You start by defining Up and Down.

    For example, up = C > 0; down = C < O; or something else

    then incorporate up and down in the color portion of the plot functions. For example,

    plot( c, "", iif( up, colorgreen, colorred ), stylebar );
     
  4. colion

    colion

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Do you have Auto-save options checked under Tools > Preferences > Miscellaneous?
     
  5. colion

    colion

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Right click on chart > Parameters > Axis & Grid > Show middle lines = No

    All of your questions are addressed in the Users Guide (http://www.amibroker.com/guide/) which you will have to become very familiar with if you are going to use AmiBroker.
     
  6. pavilion103

    pavilion103

    Posts:
    3,293
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Thanks for the help with those.

    For this last post above what I meant was that when I click on that to make the lines disappear, the number on the right hand side (y axis) disappear also. I wanted to make the lines disappear but still be able to see the numbers. Is this possible?
     
  7. colion

    colion

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Tools > Preferences > Colors > Grid (choose background color)
     
  8. pavilion103

    pavilion103

    Posts:
    3,293
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Thanks for that :)
     
  9. kastin

    kastin

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Hey guys does anybody know how to convert dayssince1900() back to a date formatt
    IE
    daysince1900() returns a number like "40716"

    after doing my additions to that number i want to turn "40716" into "22/6/2011"

    Cheers
    Jon
     
  10. Andruha

    Andruha

    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Thanks for that colion - I now fixed all my custom indicators! :)
     
  11. Andruha

    Andruha

    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Hi people,

    Just finished my backtester and before going to sleep I pressed "backtest" button to see if it works. Although results came very positive, there are more than a few things that made me suspicious about having 200%+ return on my capital. In order to resolve my questions I need some information about what values does the code assigns to various variables.

    So considering the code below (disregard buy and sell signals - they seem to occur at the right places):

    for (i = 1;i < BarCount; i++){
    if (Buy == 1){
    EP = BuyPrice;
    SL = EP - 3*myatr;
    target = EP + 2 * (EP - SL);
    }
    if (L < SL){
    Sell = 1;
    SellPrice = SL;
    target = 0;
    SL = 0;
    EP = 0;
    }
    else
    //check if target has been reached and if yes trail order by Kijin Sen
    if (EP > 0 AND C > target){
    SL = KS;
    }
    //if low on the day is less than KS close position
    if (L <= SL){
    Sell = 1;
    SellPrice = L;
    target = 0;
    SL = 0;
    EP = 0;
    }

    }

    How can a get the code to print SL and target variables for every trade in the report window?

    And I guess the more important question - is there a way to run the code step by step to see what it does?

    Cheers
     
  12. howardbandy

    howardbandy

    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Hi Andruha --

    You can see the value for any variable, such as SL, for every bar in an Exploration using the AddColumn statement.

    You can step through the code using Debug.

    Thanks,
    Howard
     
  13. TabJockey

    TabJockey

    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    I am trying to get the average consecutive periods where close is less than previous periods close,and vice versa.

    I can code it for the current period but I cant figure out how to go back and average those down runs and up runs over time.

    Can anyone help me out?
     
  14. tminus

    tminus

    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    I am having problems with the Filter option in the Automatic Analysis section of Amibroker.

    I am trying to use a watchlist to ignore a certain company as it is skewing the results heavily. But the company is still included in the results.

    I have attached images of the settings I am using.filter1.pngfilter2.png
     
  15. howardbandy

    howardbandy

    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Hi TMinus --

    If you have checked both the "Freaks" watchlist and "Indexes" group to be certain that the symbols you want to exclude are in those, but unwanted results still show up, then send a message to "support at AmiBroker dot com" and ask for their help.

    Thanks,
    Howard
     
  16. TabJockey

    TabJockey

    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    No thoughts on my problem?
     
  17. howardbandy

    howardbandy

    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Hi TabJockey --

    I do not understand what you are trying to do. But --- if as you say you can compute the value of that indicator for the current bar, then the MA function will compute the simple moving average of some number of bars ending with the current one. Here in pseudo code:

    Indic = xxxx; // Whatever you want, computed for the current bar
    LookbackLength = 10;
    AverageIndic = MA(Indic,LookbackLength); Compute the average of 10 bars

    If this did not get you on the track, put some sample data in Excel, do the calculations in Excel, paste a screen capture of the Excel sheet, along with the formulas you used in each cell, into your next posting.

    Or something similar that will let us know what you are trying to do.

    Thanks,
    Howard
     
  18. colion

    colion

    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Show us what you have done for the "current period" so that we can understand what youi are after.
     
  19. rnr

    rnr

    Posts:
    503
    Likes Received:
    249
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Code:
    Prds:=100;
    CloseDown:=C<Ref(C,-1);
    Total:=Sum(CloseDown,Prds);
    AverageDn:=Total/Prds;
    AverageDn
     
  20. Elliot

    Elliot

    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    How can I conduct a search/filter method on Amibroker for finding stocks less then .030 cents ? Please advise back

    Thanks in advance.
     
Loading...

Share This Page