• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Amibroker FAQ

Discussion in 'Software and Data' started by RichKid, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. Disqplay

    Disqplay

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Question

    Is there a limit to the number of chart tabs you can have in amibroker.
    At present I have a total of 8 tabs but cannot find anyway to increase the number of tabs. In the help guide when looking the screen shot shows 10 tabs so if it is possible to add tab can anyone explain to me how to do it?

    I should mention that I do have version 4.90.3 of amibroker, thanks for any and all replies.

    Disq
     
  2. kaveman

    kaveman

    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Tools-Preferences-Charting at bottom of window type in how many panes you want in the chart window
     
    aus_trader likes this.
  3. CanOz

    CanOz Home runs feel good, but base hits pay bills!

    Posts:
    11,531
    Likes Received:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    As posted in another thread, i'm having trouble opening up the Premium data that i've downloaded from the free trial.

    Has anyone else had trouble with this?

    Any tips???

    Anything???
    :(
     
  4. Disqplay

    Disqplay

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Chart sheets

    Thank you very much Kaveman that is exactly what I was looking for you rock

    Disq
     
  5. Disqplay

    Disqplay

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Sorry another Question

    I typed the following in not knowing what to expect and now I haven't a clue as to what the statement means other than I think it is looking for the lowest low of the close for the last 20 days but what does the rest mean?


    b = MA(LLV(Close,20),30);
     
  6. stevo

    stevo

    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    b equals the 30 period simple moving average of the lowest low value of the close price in the last 20 periods.
     
  7. GreatPig

    GreatPig Pigs In Space

    Posts:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    This Wikipedia article explains moving averages in some (mathematical) detail.

    Note also that all variables are arrays, with one element per bar, so the formula is not just calculating a single value but an array of values covering the whole chart. In other words, 'b' is an array with the value at each bar being the moving average over the previous 30 bars (or an empty value if there are less than 30 bars before it). This practice of handling arrays like single numbers is very common in AmiBroker AFL.

    GP
     
  8. chops_a_must

    chops_a_must Printing My Own Money

    Posts:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Had the same problem Cana.

    Went through this thread and found this:
    http://www.amibroker.org/3rdparty/ASX_Setup/JScript.V5.6/

    It seemed to do the trick. If not, it was definitely something of this nature from this thread.

    Hope it helps.

    Cheers,
    Chops.
     
  9. CanOz

    CanOz Home runs feel good, but base hits pay bills!

    Posts:
    11,531
    Likes Received:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Thanks Chops i'll check it out. Are you using Premium data?
     
  10. chops_a_must

    chops_a_must Printing My Own Money

    Posts:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Yus. Just on the trial.

    Once you get it set up, it couldn't be easier.
     
  11. chops_a_must

    chops_a_must Printing My Own Money

    Posts:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    I've been mucking around on the trial for Amibroker over the last week or so. Found it very good, especially with the scanning add-on.

    I just have a few basic questions.

    Is there anywhere that I can purchase Amibroker to take advantage of the exchange rate? It is the only reason I am considering it now, and it seems like they haven't taken it in to account.

    Secondly, is there anyway way you can change the chart to have the candles in green for + days and in red for - days?

    Lastly, is there anyway to change the perspective on the charts? As it seems to really flatten out the trends, and has no room at the top for indicators.

    Cheers,
    Chops.
     
  12. GreatPig

    GreatPig Pigs In Space

    Posts:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Tools->Preferences and the Colors tab.

    Not quite sure what you mean here. You can switch between linear and semi-log scales in the chart parameters, but I think you'd have to change the AFL to otherwise adjust the scaling.

    You can add indicator panes at either the top or bottom as new charts. If you want to overlay an existing chart with an indicator, I think you'd have to edit the AFL code to add the indicator to it.

    GP
     
    aus_trader likes this.
  13. chops_a_must

    chops_a_must Printing My Own Money

    Posts:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Thanks GP. That's what I wanted.

    I'm just going to bump this. Is there anywhere else that I can buy Amibroker apart from the Amibroker site?

    I enquired why it is selling at a premium in AUD, as opposed to USD, and got a really crap answer. :mad:

    If there isn't another place, I might just take my chances and order it in USD.
     
  14. GreatPig

    GreatPig Pigs In Space

    Posts:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Dunno.

    I just bought it online from their website.

    Cheers,
    GP
     
  15. deve

    deve

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Erk!

    Whilst playing around with Amibroker, I closed the chart window and now I can't seem to get it back! (Clicked on the small 'x')

    I still have tabs such as Layouts, Layers, Charts, Symbols displayed but not the chart itself. All the data seems to be there still.

    I thought it might have been under View but I can't seem to find it. Does anyone know how to get my charts back?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  16. wayneL

    wayneL Rotaredom

    Posts:
    18,295
    Likes Received:
    2,018
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    File/New/Default Chart

    Been there done that :eek:
     
  17. deve

    deve

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Cheers muchly!

    :)
     
  18. borat

    borat Jagshemash!

    Posts:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    How do I add all the ASX tickers to Amibroker?

    Hi All,

    Im setting up Amibroker fresh and want to add the ASX ticker list, but I can only find how to add them by typing comma separated tickers. as there are about 2000+ this is going to take some time! Is there somewhere I can down the list a csv file and import them? I also want to add european tickers as I'm living in Europe.

    Thanks for your help.

    B.
     
  19. CanOz

    CanOz Home runs feel good, but base hits pay bills!

    Posts:
    11,531
    Likes Received:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Holy smokes, i'm so excited i'm shakin in my boots! This guy TJ is a genius for creating a wizard to help us AFL dough heads!

    I'm wondering if anyone has tried this yet?

    Also, i know this must sound like a stupid question, but is a beta version an 'untested' version of software?

    I have version 4.90 of Amibroker. If i want the wizard, they recommend downloading the new 4.95 beta version complete with the wizard. What are the advantages or disadvantages of this compared with the just downloading the wizard add on?

    I'll do some more digging and see if i can find the answers myself, but i thought someone may have been there already.

    woo hoo, what a time saver, and a potentially great way to learn AFL!

    I'm sooo excited, its like Christmas.:D

    Cheers,
     
  20. lesm

    lesm

    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Re: How do I add all the ASX tickers to Amibroker?

    Borat,

    You can set up an entire ASX database using the files provided in the AB 3rd-Party Area below:

    http://www.amibroker.org/3rdparty/ASX_Setup/Download/

    A full set of instructions is supplied as part of the download file.

    If you just want an ticker list of companies download the following file from the ASX site:

    http://www.asx.com.au/asx/downloadCsv/ASXListedCompanies.csv

    Copy the complete list of ASX codes located in Column B and paste them into Notepad. You can then save the file as something like "ASX Companies.tls" and import them into a watchlist.

    Cheers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page