• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Interactive Brokers

Discussion in 'Brokers' started by MrMarcus, May 6, 2008.

  1. skc

    skc Goldmember

    Posts:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    303
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    IB is not SPP friendly as they only get 1 allocation to be pro-rated amongst various holders who apply. Confirm for yourself with your friendly IB consultant..
     
  2. Paradiso

    Paradiso

    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    I have a question about the trailing stop order type in the context of Forex.

    Say I want to buy $AUDUSD @ 0.97945 with a trailing stop at 5 pips. In the order entry form the trailing stop defaults to 1.0000, do I change it to 5.0000 or 0.0005 to have the trailing stop at 5pips?

    I have looked at the IB online help and googled it also but I can't find any answer to this.
     
  3. freebird54

    freebird54

    Posts:
    351
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    As the market data is $49/ month I use my free broker data no problems
    but IB have improved the option trader platform letting you input what you want in "rollover options"
    So we end up with a combo price
    Is there anywhere we can access this combo data free please

    [I only do it 4 times/year]
     
  4. hawamahal

    hawamahal

    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    I am interested in opening an account with IB. I understand that the account opening requirement is 10000 USD. What is the required minimum cash to be kept in the account once it is opened.
     
  5. pma99

    pma99

    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Try the following link on the IB site:

    http://ibkb.interactivebrokers.com/node/314

    I thought I had also read somewhere that the account balance must be at least USD 2000 to be able to trade - it doesn't quite say that in the above link and I can't find where I read it.

    Paul
     
  6. titl4

    titl4

    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    http://tinyurl.com/29sazax

    Select the "Stocks" tab and scroll down to the notes.

    Cheers ........ Alan
     
  7. atuc

    atuc

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Hi,

    I am having issues getting some of the futures chart to load using IB via Ninja.

    For instance I can only get the daily candles on the ES to load. Also, others like the FDAX give me a historical data error.

    What am I doing wrong? Settings have been set as Ninja advise...
     
  8. new16

    new16

    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    Hi all, I wonder if anyone here has changed their share holdings from Commsec to IB.

    Have you been charged any fees by them?
    Is it trouble to do so?
    It might be more convenient to sell shares through Commsec and then transfer fund to IB account?

    Sharing your experiences here would be much appreciated.
     
  9. toocool

    toocool

    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB


    That is what I did, although kept my longer-term holds in comsec and put my trading (short-term) money into IB margin account.

    I have to say the sign up process was tedious but now its up and running I love it!
    $6 conditional orders buy, stop and target in one all before you buy is great and margin on all asx stocks is great.... sooo much better.

    Just my 2c
     
  10. titl4

    titl4

    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    It was my intention to do that until I realized that IB are not a CHESS sponsor. In the end I transferred my ASX holdings from Commsec to Bell and kept the IB accounts for US shares. About 70% of my holdings are with IB.
     
  11. Harro26

    Harro26

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    Hi New,

    I did this about a year ago. It was a bit of a hassle to be honest but well worth the effort. From memory Comsec charged a small fee (About $10) or so. If you call the IB help desk they will talk you through it but you have to provide IB with the following details:

    Delivering Broker's Name:
    Delivering Broker's CHESS-PID No.:
    Account Name at Delivering Broker:
    Account No. at Delivering Broker:
    Sponsor issued or HIN number or SRN number (if applicable):
    Broker's Phone number:
    Contact Name at Delivering Broker*:
    Assets to be transferred (Name, Symbol, Quantity):

    I just did this through a ticket on the account management page. You then have to send a letter to COMSEC stating that you want your shares transfered to Fortis Clearing Sydney, PID 01192. It took a couple of weeks for it all to happen as once you've done this IB will contact COMSEC and arrange the transfer.

    Harro
     
  12. Harro26

    Harro26

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    IB Margin requirements

    Hi all,

    IB's margin procedures confuse the sh*t out of me. the questions I have are as follows:

    * If you violate your margin requirements will positions be liquidated immediately or only at market close? (I assume not immediately as I have been in margin violation. From what I have read positions will only be liquidated immediately if you bust your SEM, 10% below a margin violation)
    * Do they liquidate all your positions or only enough to get you back to a positive margin? Again I have read different things on this some sites say all your positions may be liquidated and some say 4 X your margin defecit will be liquidated.
    * If you do violate your margin requirements, does this effect your ability to trade on margin? The reason I ask is that the day after I violated my margin (Only momentarily) it appeared that I could not trade on margin. This may be because of the stocks I was holding at the time though (Being mostly small cap).
    * I am only ever able to go to a loan to value ratio of ~1.2. Generally my portfolio consists of about 30% short stocks and 70% long. Do the short positions prevent me from getting to a greater LVR or is it just because some positions are not marginable. I understood that for long positions you need to provide 25% of the purchase value initially and for short positions it was 30% but I am never able to do this.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  13. freebird54

    freebird54

    Posts:
    351
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB


    I moved all mine except 1 [to keep access] no charge but cs were slow as usual
     
  14. new16

    new16

    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    Hi Guys, thank you very much for sharing your transferring story here.


    IB asks for a contact name at the current broker and we also have to inform someone in Commsec regarding this matter. Who did you guys contact with?
     
  15. Harro26

    Harro26

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    I called Comsec and they gave me the details I needed. The POC was the lady I spoke to on the phone (Zoi) and the Contact number was (02)82925705. For info also Comsecs Chess PID number is 01402.
     
  16. RogueTrader273

    RogueTrader273

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    I've recently received a share certificate for Goldcorp (GG on the NYSE) after it took over an Oz firm, and was wondering if anyone knows how to transfer it to electronic format so I can trade it through IB? (IB told me I need to do it through a third party.)
    I'm in Australia so not sure what I can do now. Thanks in advance.
     
  17. tech/a

    tech/a No Ordinary Duck

    Posts:
    19,125
    Likes Received:
    3,073
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Why not just sell it then re buy it and trade as normal through IB.
     
  18. RogueTrader273

    RogueTrader273

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Why don't I sell them? I wish I could. That is my question, how do I sell them?
     
  19. new16

    new16

    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Re: changing share holdings from Commsec to IB

    Hi Harro, thank you for your information.
     
  20. roland

    roland

    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    I got as far as having an unfunded approved account.

    So I still need to transfer some bucks across, but a bit worried with this screen talking about commission minimums.

    Wondering if someone could explain this in "dummy's terms" for me.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ib.jpg
      ib.jpg
      File size:
      35.2 KB
      Views:
      9
Loading...

Share This Page