Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

ASF Issues, Errors and Problems

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
OK, I have discovered something very interesting that has led me to the real problem being experienced here.

The one thing that confused me is why some Chrome users were experiencing issues, while others (including me) were not. I decided to check my Chrome version number, which was 88.0.4324.104. There was a link to check for updates, so I updated to the latest version, 88.0.4324.146.

Boom! Suddenly I had the error everyone was reporting. So thanks Google, you FUBARed ASF with your latest Chrome update. Damn you to hell! 😭
 
Joined
12 January 2008
Posts
6,052
Reactions
14,565
That's called progress Joe.

Desktop: Chrome, Win 10 pro - 403 error
Laptop: Chrome, Win 10 pro using wifi from same modem as desktop - all clear ASF alive.

How do I see the version # of Chrome ? I'll compare my desktop and laptop. OK found it.

Desktop: #### 146
Laptop: #### 104 BUT now it's auto updated to 146 and I'm trying to not start it.

Edit: Bugga, now laptop has launched Chrome ### 146 and I'm getting that 403 error for ASF.
 
Last edited:

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
Quick fix for those affected.

1. Uninstall Chrome
2. Download Chrome Portable (Version 88.0.4324.104): https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/google_chrome_portable
3. Install.
4. Turn off Chrome automatic updates. (see below)

screenshot-www.webnots.com-2021.02.04-00_10_53.png

I have tested the above steps and confirm that they work.

Please don't mess with your PC if you don't understand what you are doing. I accept no responsibility or liability should you really screw things up.
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
I've just had the host correct an improperly set up hostname on the server.

Can any Chrome users on the latest release please confirm for me that Chrome is now accessing ASF without any issues?
 
Joined
8 June 2008
Posts
9,844
Reactions
12,681
I find it quite odd people use Chrome or Edge.
Mozilla Firefox has been default for years.
:2twocents
using firefox myself but chrome better for integration..[obviously with google account] so same bookmarks between smartphone and android, per user bookmarks: aka work/home accounts etc with easy switch etc
I understand the attraction and some ATO sites do not work well with firefox but ok with chrome
 
Joined
26 March 2013
Posts
9
Reactions
2
Good morning everyone.

I am trying to diagnose a Chrome-related ASF login issue that a forum user is experiencing.

When the user tries to log into ASF using Chrome browser on a laptop running Windows 10 Professional, an error message is received that says:

Forbidden
You don’t have permission to access this resource


Is anyone out there experiencing a similar issue while attempting to log in to ASF?

If you are, please let me know in this thread.

Thank you.
yes, i am
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
yes, i am

Can you please confirm that you are still experiencing this issue on Chrome? I am receiving reports from others that it has now been resolved.

Please delete Chrome's temporary internet files and browser cache before checking again.

Thanks.
 
Joined
26 March 2013
Posts
9
Reactions
2
Good morning everyone.

I am trying to diagnose a Chrome-related ASF login issue that a forum user is experiencing.

When the user tries to log into ASF using Chrome browser on a laptop running Windows 10 Professional, an error message is received that says:

Forbidden
You don’t have permission to access this resource


Is anyone out there experiencing a similar issue while attempting to log in to ASF?

If you are, please let me know in this thread.

Thank you.
i didn't do anything. But thought, may be i am blocked because i didn't post much. But thought its queer, cause I was blocked right after i hit the website go button.
Today I just tried, strangely i am in.

By the way, please excuse me for not posting much, partly because I am not good at English and I am also not good at doing stock research. Thank you for allowing me to remain in your website.
 

Country Lad

Off into the sunset
Joined
11 July 2005
Posts
1,343
Reactions
1,076
That's good to hear.

We don't block people who don't post much so don't worry.

I'm now going to consider this Google Chrome issue resolved, unless I receive any feedback to the contrary.
Joe, we had a similar issue with members of another group trying to access our website where a couple of people could not access the website with Safari but everybody else had no trouble with any browser including safari.

Then a week later the same thing happened but this time with Chrome. We were told it was a conflict with the computers/OS and the website OS and maybe involving IP addresses and it will sort itself out. It took only a couple of days in each case. In the meantime people simply used a different browser for that particular website.
 

PZ99

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Joined
13 May 2015
Posts
3,186
Reactions
2,243
No issue with chrome here.

I would recommend shutting down chrome and reopening it in incognito mode.

This would disable any extensions that might cause that problem.
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
Joe, we had a similar issue with members of another group trying to access our website where a couple of people could not access the website with Safari but everybody else had no trouble with any browser including safari.

Then a week later the same thing happened but this time with Chrome. We were told it was a conflict with the computers/OS and the website OS and maybe involving IP addresses and it will sort itself out. It took only a couple of days in each case. In the meantime people simply used a different browser for that particular website.

Over the years there have been a number of access related issues. Usually it occurs when I'm changing servers or hosts and there are DNS changes that need 24 to 48 hours to resolve properly. Other times there has been ISP related issues where for some reason access to ASF was inadvertently blocked or restricted by specific ISPs.

But this is the first time I can recall a major browser update creating access issues. On the positive side, it did make me dig deep and discover a hostname issue that i wasn't aware of, so there were some positive outcomes. I'm interested in server management but it's a complicated area and it's so easy to mess things up. I have a dream of one day having the knowledge and experience to be able to manage a server on my own, but I'll probably be a really old fart by then, if it ever actually happens.


:wheniwasaboy: <- In the future, me telling people about the great Google Chrome incident of February 2021 and how I saved the day and discovered an improperly setup hostname at the same time.
 
Joined
26 March 2014
Posts
17,027
Reactions
7,590
There is a thread in General Chat called "It's time to tell China to get nicked" .

I can see it on the the main forum page, with the latest post by rederob, but when I try to access the thread I get a message saying "the requested thread could not be found".

I believe the thread was started by a poster I now have on "Ignore". I can't seem to find the member to "Un ignore" him so I can test if that is the problem.

Could you look into this please Joe ?
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,442
Reactions
3,906
Could you look into this please Joe ?

Your Ignore options are in your user menu. You will be able to unignore anything or anyone you have ignored in there.

I recommend everyone go through their user options in detail. You may be surprised at the options and customisations that exist in there. Lots of interesting stuff.

ignore_list.jpg
 
Joined
26 March 2014
Posts
17,027
Reactions
7,590
Your Ignore options are in your user menu. You will be able to unignore anything or anyone you have ignored in there.

I recommend everyone go through their user options in detail. You may be surprised at the options and customisations that exist in there. Lots of interesting stuff.

View attachment 120240

Thanks, that was indeed the problem, although if I want to ignore someone I want to ignore just his posts, not the whole thread, even if he started it.
 
Top