Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

What makes a stock price rise in value?

Reactions
Complete newbie question
I have asked similar questions on other forums with a reply go read a book and stop being a pest
I can only assume they did not know

So here goes

What makes stock price rise in value
I know people buy them and assume bit more than they are worth
So my question is why ???

Why buy something for more than What its worth

springhill

Make the drill work for YOU
Reactions
Re: A complete newbie beginners question

Complete newbie question
I have asked similar questions on other forums with a reply go read a book and stop being a pest

So here goes

Simple.

The purchaser thinks rightly/or wrongly the share price will increase, or they can attain value from that stock via dividends.

The other reason is to purchase a stock with the assumption of declining value. This makes you an idiot or a tax dodger.

CanOz

Home runs feel good, but base hits pay bills!
Reactions

Complete newbie question

So here goes

How do you know what its true value is? Is all the information on the value reflected in the current price?

The market's job is to discover what the value is, like an auction...the value is what the buyer is willing to pay for it...Think of it like a car auction. The seller wants a price as high as possible. Perhaps the buyer thinks that the stock will be in high demand later, and wants to buy now for fear of missing out on this price. Perhaps the seller wants to sell as they feel the price is fair and above what they paid.

Fundamental value investors buy because their analysis tells them that the is undervalued.

Technical traders buy because their analysis tells them the price could rise further.

Why do you pay the price you do for things in the supermarket, do you know that they are priced at a fair value?

'food' for thought...;)

CanOz

Bill M

Self Funded Retiree
Reactions

So here goes