Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Tax question on capital gains vs. losses

Reactions
could anyone briefly explain how this works ie

hypothetically if u have a capital gain of $1500 and a capital loss of $1500 is the net result $0.00 or does the the loss be deucted from the payable tax on the gain ie

gain $1500, @ 30% tax rate = $450 tax payable minus the $1500 loss?

thanx from a newbie

springhill

Make the drill work for YOU
Reactions
Re: Tax question on capital gains vs losses

Don't quote me on this but my understanding ur $1500 loss is also susceptible to the 30% tax rate, but dont forget to claim your brokerage fees as a tax deduction (presumably also at 30%). If i am wrong i would also like to know as this is my first year posting a share win/loss

GreatPig

Pigs In Space
Reactions

Capital losses are deducted from capital gains before any tax considerations.

So $1500 of each would give a net gain of zero and thus no tax.

GP

Reactions

GP
GP's is on the mark......

The only additional thing I would note is that if you are an investor and hold your shares on a capital account, if you end up having a net capital loss for the year, they will be quarantined for future years capital profits......

If you are a trader and hold shares on a revenue account, totally different ball game.....

This is not advice, yada yada yada yada......

Cheers

Reactions

GP
you're right....I have a question, since assessable capital gain halves if stock held for more than a year, does the same principle also apply to a loss?

eg bought $5000 2005
sold $4000 2007

is the loss applied against gains $1000 or $500? hypothetical question but I do have a couple of stale losses I am sitting on. Thanks.

GreatPig

Pigs In Space
Reactions