• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Tax query

Discussion in 'Beginner's Lounge' started by craigj, Jun 4, 2009.

1. craigj

craigj

is it the trading date or the settlement date that is used for the finnancial year come tax time?

is there any problems selling shares that are showing a loss and buying them back same day to reduce capital gain this finnancial year?

any tax tips would be great as this is my first year trading

cheers

2. drsmith

drsmith

It's the trading date.

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/36546.htm

-------------------------------------------------------

Information from the following ATO page and links therein are also well worth a look.

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/c...htm&pc=001/002/026/016/004&mnu=&mfp=&st=&cy=1

3. son of baglimit

son of baglimit

http://www.ato.gov.au/corporate/content.asp?doc=/content/00110544.htm

"I want to remind anyone who may be considering using wash sale arrangements to reduce their next tax bill that significant penalties can apply."

4. drsmith

drsmith

5. craigj

craigj

thanks for all the advice and valuable links on tax

guess i need to think more about how to reduce the capital gain:confused:

6. jono1887

jono1887

what deductions are legit for trading/investing?
    my laptop is being used to make a claim for the education tax refund (because i was in high school last year) am i also able to claim it as a tax deduction as well?

also my ipod touch, i only using it for stock quotes and trading when im at uni. I honestly dont use any of the video or music functions on it, just web browsing for news, the bloomberg app, and iphone comsec platform, would this be a legitimate deduction??

7. beamstas

beamstas

Jono, your ipod - highly doubt it

Even a computer as an example