Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Tax Implications of Rebalancing (1 Viewer)

Reactions
Newbie here. Started investing in ASX via Commsec in early 2020, with a view to early retirement.

If I want to rebalance, and this involves trimming a position / selling some stock to buy another, would this incur capital gains tax if the cash doesn't leave my brokerage account?

Am I better off sticking to a buy-only strategy to maintain the desired allocations?

Reactions
Newbie here. Started investing in ASX via Commsec in early 2020, with a view to early retirement.

If I want to rebalance, and this involves trimming a position / selling some stock to buy another, would this incur capital gains tax if the cash doesn't leave my brokerage account?

Am I better off sticking to a buy-only strategy to maintain the desired allocations?

any profits/losses from any sale of an asset is taxed. The fact it is in a brokerage account doesn't change this fact.

whether its 'capital gains' is determined by how long the asset has been held. otherwise it is likely 'income' like most trading.

sticking to 'buy and hold' purely for tax reasons doesn't sound like a strategy to me. eventually you have to pay tax anyway. i would be looking at maximising my return, not putting off paying tax until a later date.

seek professional tax advice for whatever specific circumstance you have. none of us here really know what your situation is so advice will change based on your circumstances.

Reactions
eject, whenever you enter/exit a position, its triggers a tax event. It doesn't matter where the cash goes. I strongly suggest you learn the tax implications of your trades. There's a plethora of information here to help guide you and using the search engine will guide you to what's needed.
good luck on your journey and hope to see more posts in the future

Reactions
whenever you enter/exit a position, its triggers a tax event.