Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Relatively New Trader - Seeking Advice

Reactions
Hey guys,

Just seeking a little bit of information and advice here. I am a student who has 5k spare, in which i want to invest. What i wish to do is place 3k into blue chip stocks, and with the remaining give day trading a whirl. I understand it isn't a lot to start with, and I am not seeking advice regarding I shouldn't be doing this. This is happening, i want to learn.

My biggest issue right now is finding a broker. I day traded recently using ANZ Etrade, and saw my profits get eaten up in commissions (2 Hours - $105 profit - $40 brokerage fee = :l). So in that light i have been looking for a new broker and have narrowed it down to three.

Brokers of choice:
OptionsXpress
Interactive Brokers
CMCMarkets

Now regarding OptionsXpress, i am not sure if they are chess sponsored. If somebody could tell me I would appreciate that greatly. Considering I am holding 3k of my 5k, chess sponsorship would be the way to go, unless directed otherwise.

In summary, I am in search for a broker in which i can hold a good 75 - 80% in blue-chips, and 20 - 25 % day trading. What broker would be best suited for me?

Also regarding books, there are a ton out there, what would best suite somebody starting out? Something that would teach you analysis, risk, etc. Looking for a book with information not stories.

Cheers guys :)

tech/a

No Ordinary Duck
Reactions
IB are not chess sponsored
IB need about $12k min
IB are cheapest.

I'd borrow what you need to open an IB account
Once opened get the sim trading platform loaded.
Withdraw the funds you borrowed to open the account
And trade to your hearts content using IB's sim platform

Best and cheapest education you'll ever have.
Don't trade until you know how to!

Reactions
IB are not chess sponsored
IB need about $12k min
IB are cheapest.

I'd borrow what you need to open an IB account
Once opened get the sim trading platform loaded.