• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Newbie question: How to take advantage of low oil price?

Discussion in 'Commodities' started by goldenfuture, Jan 18, 2015.

1. goldenfuture

goldenfuture

Dear all,

I am a newbie to shares and commodities investing, and would like to ask how to take advantage of the currently very low oil prices?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated ... thanks in advance!

2. minwa

minwa

Don't fight the downtrend - my view.

But if you must try pick the bottom - easiest but worst way is CFDs. Better way is oil futures or ETFs. Not sure if they're available on ASX.

3. pixel

pixel DIY Trader

Try and Google "trading falling knife"
    You can start with Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/fallingknife.asp

In the end you'll know why it's never a good idea to "expect" a reversal based on the fact that something has been sold down sharply. Nothing has fallen so low that there isn't a chance of it falling even lower.

4. burglar

burglar

Fill your tank!

5. hhse

hhse

Sell a put option on oil ETF. Lowers your cost basis, and is a bullish play short-med term.

6. Smurf1976

Smurf1976

It depends on what you're expecting to happen next.

If oil goes back up then holding an oil ETF, or the shares of an oil producing company, is one way to profit.

If oil falls further or remains at current prices for an extended period then that's good for the profits of those who have oil as a major business cost. Airlines are the obvious example there.