Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Investment portfolio spreadsheets

Reactions
I am having real trouble organizing a spreadshet to track my portfolio in order to link the profit/loss and end amont to my business portfolio to give a reflection fo the worth of my total assets.

I have used the link profided in another thread to the Capital Gains template offered by MS Office. However I am having some trouble with formula, and I am not that experienced with formula.

I need it to reflect the following, but can't get it to work properly with currently held investments and already sold investments;

-Available Cash
-on-going cash deposits
-market worth
-total worth
-total profit loss

I just can't get it to work after modifying the template.

A ready mate template would be excellent, but I recon id be pushing my luck there...

Reactions
I want to attach a copy of the currently modified sheet that I can't get working with very simple formula. If someone can overlook it I would so very appreciative.
Can you elaborate? Whats not working
Also example of where its not working will help

Reactions
Ok I'll do my best to describe it - it is pretty hard to explain what I am wanting out of this.

In the total P/L tab when I add in an array of stocks it ends up adding the worth of the stock at the time to the P/L.

For example if I add;

100 units x $10 = $1000 - it will just add the thousand into the P/L even though the stock is at what it costed me ie. $1000. So I purchase for $10 and the stock is worth $10 which means I am dead even - but the P/L will add 1000 and give me a wrong amount.

Also, it gets tricky when I want to add a cell that shows the total portfolio worth with sold stock, held stock and it's current price (I manually update EOD) because, I believe, it is affected by the same reason in the preceeding pararaph.