• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Interactive Brokers Troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Brokers' started by rub92me, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. rub92me

    rub92me Don't look back

    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    MOD NOTE: Please see this thread for coverage of common IB FAQ's. The discussion starts in earnest after about p3. For example, a number of common queries related to account opening are answered by Steve-IB from Interactive Brokers. Remember to use the thread search tool with keywords corresponding to your topic of interest.

    Any ongoing issues more suited to the troubleshooting topic should be posted below in this thread. Always remember that IB's customer service system is probably the quickest method to get a response if you have any trouble. If you still have problems or would like to discuss an issue feel free to post.

    Thank you for helping us run the forums in a smooth and efficient manner- enjoy your time on ASF!

    RichKid
    Moderator
    -----------


    Starting to look at IB as a replacement for Etrade, however my first observation on the market data that I see through the IB Webtrader doesn't fill me with confidence.
    E.g. as at 10:43am today IB is showing that no trades have taken place on FAR with price still at 0.125, while Etrade (and ASX) is telling me that 100,000 was traded at the open for 0.13.
    And in general volumes traded showing in IB Webtrader are far below what Etrade is telling me!
    Anyone experiencing a similar thing or able to provide an explanation for this?
     
  2. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers Market Data - Not complete/correct?

    Wow, that's nuts. What did you find out or decide?

    legout
     
  3. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Interactive Brokers (IB) Australia opens one hour late?

    I tried phoning them, but they were closed AFTER MARKET OPEN? What is up with that? :mad: The message suggested calling the European Office!

    legout
     
  4. rub92me

    rub92me Don't look back

    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Re: Interactive Brokers Market Data - Not complete/correct?

    They fixed the issue. At start-up they hadn't figured out how to include the opening and closing sessions in the price, which was particularly noticable in stocks with low volume trading. They're still off marginally in the volumes they report through the web based broker though. Market depth is a bit sketchy too and sometimes not working.
     
  5. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers Market Data - Not complete/correct?

    I just checked our time and sales at the open and it matches Bloomberg. However, sizes at the open are 16k, 14k, 5k, 81k, 119k, 29.4k, 1.6k all at 0.13
     
  6. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers Market Data - Not complete/correct?

    Oops, sorry.. Thought that you meant today
     
  7. rub92me

    rub92me Don't look back

    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Re: Interactive Brokers (IB) Australia opens one hour late?

    Did you call the Hong Kong / Australia number?
    Australia: 02 9240 5143
    Hong Kong: +852 2156 7909
     
  8. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
  9. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers (IB) Australia opens one hour late?

    Thank you, Steve, for the link. OK, I see, if you want to make a call during the first hour, you don't call the 'Australian' office, but another one. After that you can call the Australian office. Just seems a bit counterintuitive/PITA.

    legout
     
  10. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Interactive Brokers (IB) Trading Platform TWS available for Apple OSX?

    Is this true? Wow, that would be really great! Just noticed this today. If so, does it have all the same functionality that the Windows version has? Especially Option functionality??? :) This might mean the end of Parallels Desktop for me?:p:

    legout
     
  11. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers (IB) Trading Platform TWS available for Apple OSX?


    Yes, we have Mac and Unix versions. We use all 3 versions internally, and they are identical.
    Mac download is available here:
    http://individuals.interactivebrokers.com/en/p.php?f=tws&ib_entity=llc
     
  12. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers (IB) Trading Platform TWS available for Apple OSX?

    That is so unique. This may be the only credible Apple program available to trade shares and derivatives on the Oz market. My IB app has been submitted and I'm waiting to hear back, hopefully by Friday...

    legout
     
  13. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Re: Interactive Brokers (IB) Trading Platform TWS available for Apple OSX?


    Cool, let's hope Apple has record Christmas sales in Australia! :)
     
  14. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    rub2me, I saw your other thread about software for spotting the top gainers. There is a market scanner in TWS, which allows you to see the Top 50 Gainers on the ASX real-time during the trading day. Go to Page >> Create Market Scanner and you can set it up.
     
  15. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Hi Steve,

    I was happy to receive a welcome email from IB, that my account opening was successful. Yeah!:D

    Now I just have to wait 12 more hours before I can start working with it... :(

    Steve, I was looking at the option modeling software features a bit, and found some really sophisticated graph tools that I had never seen before, which is cool, but...

    I couldn't find a picture or information on a basic risk profile graphic of an option position that one is considering.

    This is the most obvious and IMHO important graphic. You know the one. E.G. the covered call risk profile looks like a hockey-stick, a spread trade looks like a lightning bolt, etc. It's so important because you can compare the profiles between different strikes, etc. You can compare the break-even point, etc.

    OptionVue style graph.

    Please tell me TWS can do this!

    Thanks,

    legout
     
  16. rub92me

    rub92me Don't look back

    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Cheers Steve, I'll check that out for a play around. Some holiday coming up so some time available to throw some money at intraday trades :D
     
  17. Steve-IB

    Steve-IB

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007

    You mean an expiration pay-off chart. The only place you'll find that is when you set-up an option spread it will show you the expiration graphic for a particular pre-defined strategy. In the new year there will be a major new release for the option analytics which will also include the Australian options. I'm not involved in the development, but I've been told it's very comprehensive, so may include what you are looking for.
     
  18. legout

    legout

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    The graph has profit/loss on the y-axis and price of underlying on x-axis. It can also be set up to graph different lines for time decay, but this is optional.

    It's generally referred to as a 'Risk Profile' as it shows maximum loss, maximum gain, and everything in between, all depending on the price of the underlying.

    Is this graph available?

    Steve, I'm trading Australia. You seem to imply that there is there less functionality in the software for Australia than for the US. Is this true? Thanks,

    legout
     
  19. chops_a_must

    chops_a_must Printing My Own Money

    Posts:
    4,632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Anyone know what to do with troubleshooting for the amibroker feed? I've tried everything I know to get the correct cut offs happening within amibroker, so am assuming the fault is coming from IB itself.
     
  20. Seaking

    Seaking

    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    I'm assuming you are wanting to set the different open and close times for each market.
    If so, click - symbol- catogories - groups and then click on a blank space next to an icon and type the market you want to trade EG. "SFE Futures". Then click on " Intraday settings and fill in the relevant day and night session times and click on the day/night session option.

    Ok all that and then click on - Symbol - Organize assignments - groups... Drop down the left menu and select "Unassigned".. Select your market group from the right drop down box and then enter the contracts from left to right.

    Close that box and all going well, you should have the relevant times for each market when you open a contract.
     
Loading...

Share This Page