• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

How to invest in gold & ASX gold stocks?

Discussion in 'Commodities' started by Johnmac, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Johnmac

Johnmac

I’ve been a gold buff since 2002, but have never had any money to invest. Now some cash has come my way, & I'm faced with an unexpected opportunity. But I realise I have little knowledge of the 'mechanics' of investing in gold or gold stocks.

So I have some questions re (i) bullion and (ii) Australian gold stocks - if anyone would be so kind as to help me:

I could buy bullion from the Perth Mint & put it in a bank safe. But are the Mint's margins going to take a fair slice of my profit? And is there a better way - something that pays me interest or dividends along the way?

I could buy shares in Aussie gold miners. But how would I ensure my title to them was made sound? (Gold guru Jim Sinclair's recent warnings re stock certificates are ringing in my ears.) Also, whilst I have complete confidence that gold stocks will rise, I note that they have not yet done so in tandem with the metal, & as early as they did in the Great Depression.

(Needless to say, when I pose these questions to the family's financial advisors, they look at me as if I’m speaking Swahili.)

Thanks all,

John

2. pixel

pixel DIY Trader

Hi John,

By the sound of it, you haven't been familiar with how the stockmarket works. So let me make it simple - and I trust you don't take offence when I say that.

Share certificates may be dodgy if you want to take up an offer that comes unsolicited to you in an email. But if you're buying a share that's listed on the ASX, and use an accredited broker to buy them outright, your title will be secured, no worries.