• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Hello from Perth, WA

Discussion in 'Beginner's Lounge' started by Albinoni, Aug 28, 2019.

1. Albinoni

Albinoni

Hello to all from Perth. I am new to this Stock Market/Trading game and all this stuff is double dutch to me at the moment but willing to learn and would like some recommendation's on some good books to read or even a good course to take for beginner's like myself.

Skate likes this.
  2. sptrawler

sptrawler

Hi Albinoni, I'm not a trader, so can't help you much.
    But there are some excellent traders on the forum, who readily come forward to lend a hand to those learning, enjoy the ride.
    One word of advice, don't be afraid to ask. :xyxthumbs

Miner likes this.
  3. Smurf1976

Smurf1976

A possible point there is that since the OP is new to it all, they may not understand the distinction you're using between "trader" and "investor".

There's no hard rule which defines it so far as I'm aware but generally speaking a trader buys shares with the intention of selling them fairly quickly for a higher price and profits solely from movement in the share price whilst an investor intends owning them for an extended period and aims to profit from dividends as well as any increase in the share price.

Both approaches have their merits and what suits and individual comes down to many factors including personality. Some are inclined toward the idea of actively buying and selling on a regular basis and aiming to beat the market whilst others are more inclined toward the idea of assessing the merits of a business and owning part of it as a shareholder over an extended period.

Both approaches have their place. :2twocents

myrtie100, sptrawler and Trav. like this.
  4. Porper

Porper Ralph Nelson Elliott