Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Experience with Aussie brokerage, Capital 19?

Reactions
Not sure if this is in the right forum. Just wondering if anyone has any kind of experience or a trading account with the Sydney based brokerage firm, Capital 19. I sent them an email once with some queries but never heard back. They have pretty good commission fees compared to other Aussie-based brokerages, eg US options $2 per contract with $15 minimum, and stocks 2 cents per share with $15 minimum. Aussie options $2 per contract with $30 minimum, and stocks 0.15% trade value with $15 minimum. You can also trade on a stack of other international exchanges and the fees for those appear to be pretty good too.

So_Cynical

The Contrarian Averager
Reactions
I have no experience with them, just wondering with the services they offer if they are simply reselling IB?

skc

Goldmember
Reactions
It looks like they are just white-label the Interactive Broker (IB) TWS platform. If that's what you want to use then just go join IB directly. It's cheaper with 8bps or $6 minimum trade for Aussie stocks.

There are a few threads on IB here so make sure you read up and are comfortable with your stocks being held in "street name" rather than CHESS.

Reactions
Thanks, guys. I did wonder what the give was about TWS, as there seem to be a large number of brokerages that offer that platform. I've heard too many scary stories about IB to consider an account with them. Shame, as they seem to be the only cheap brokerage for trading the ASX and have so many perks, whether you want to trade international exchanges, or options, or need all the right routes for penny stocks, etc. They almost seem to have a monopoly. I wonder if Capital 19 would just refer all support queries to IB.

Why is it that Aussie brokerages are so expensive? It's not like ComSec, Westpac, and Etrade can't afford to be cheaper. Is it some kind of ACCC non-competition thing to benefit the smaller brokerages?

Reactions