Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

ASF 'How do I do it?' thread

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
Re: ASF Site Performance

I am trying to get to the earliest of my posts.
If I remember the thread title or part thereof, it's all good.

But if I go back through the "latest posts",
I get error messages aplenty.
And ... surprise, the list stops short.

Hi burglar, try this: view your profile, then click on "Find latest posts". After that, click on where it says, "Page 1 of X" and enter the page number of your posts you wish to jump to. There is a problem with the page numbering at the moment, so if you click through to the last page you may get a "Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms." error. If this happens just choose a smaller number and try again.

Hope that helps.
 
Joined
4 October 2012
Posts
871
Reactions
3
For Joe's Attention Please...

Hi Joe,

I hope you are enjoying your break?

As you may well know I cannot use my personal account atm because I have the maximum number in my out box. Thus can you please tell me how you move a message from one folder to another?

Thanking you in advance of your reply.

Cheers
PB
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
Re: For Joe's Attention Please...

Hi Joe,

I hope you are enjoying your break?

As you may well know I cannot use my personal account atm because I have the maximum number in my out box. Thus can you please tell me how you move a message from one folder to another?

Thanking you in advance of your reply.

Cheers
PB

Hi PB, my break is going fine. Thanks for asking.

If you have a total of 50 PMs in all your folders then you will have to delete some to free up space. Simply check the box to the right of each PM you would like to delete, click the "Selected Messages" menu, select "Delete" and then click "Proceed". You will have to do this in all of your different folders, including "Sent" as the 50 PM limit applies to all folders.

Please note that if you wish to save your PMs you can do so by selecting "XML", "CSV" or "Text" at the bottom of your Inbox page where it says, "Download all Private Messages as:". I save all of mine for reference and use the "Text" option.

If you would like to move PMs from one folder to another, check the box to the right of each PM you would like to move, click the "Selected Messages" menu, select "Move to folder...", click "Proceed", then select the folder name and click "Move Items".

I hope that answers your question. If you require any further clarification please don't hesitate to ask.
 

Logique

Investor
Joined
18 April 2007
Posts
4,290
Reactions
767
I used to know how to send PMs before the website redesign, but have no idea how or if, this can be done now. Not that I have any PMs to send, but it's nice to know how
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
I used to know how to send PMs before the website redesign, but have no idea how or if, this can be done now. Not that I have any PMs to send, but it's nice to know how

Hover your mouse pointer over the Envelope icon next to the Alerts icon and then click the "Start a New Conversation" option at the bottom. You will then be taken to the "Add Conversation" page. In the "Participants" box at the top start typing the user name of the ASF member you wish to send a PM to. You should see the user name come up as you type. Select it and then type your PM title and PM content in the two boxes below. When you are finished click the "Start a Conversation" button below which will deliver your PM to the recipient.

You can send a PM to multiple recipients, just add the different user names one after another and separate each by a comma until you're done.

That's it. Let me know if you have any further questions.
 
Joined
3 April 2013
Posts
1,021
Reactions
209
Is there a way to export an entire thread like 'Present Value of Future Cash Flows'? I would like to print the thread so I can read while I am hols
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
Is there a way to export an entire thread like 'Present Value of Future Cash Flows'? I would like to print the thread so I can read while I am hols

Unfortunately, the software currently has no facility to export threads.

Try printing it as a PDF from your browser options. I use "Microsoft Print to PDF" as the printer when I do this and it seems to work OK.
 
Joined
3 April 2013
Posts
1,021
Reactions
209
Unfortunately, the software currently has no facility to export threads.

Try printing it as a PDF from your browser options. I use "Microsoft Print to PDF" as the printer when I do this and it seems to work OK.

Cheers, thought this might be the case but was hoping to not repeat the process 30 times haha
 
Joined
8 June 2008
Posts
9,664
Reactions
12,252
typing issues,
Joe I have specific issues when typing in AFR on my android phone.It basically adds a lot of garbage to my initial input and I wonder if anyone else has had the same issue.
All good on PC etc
but if I type on my phone, the spellcheck triggers on and it is a nightmare.I use gboard the google keyboard.all good in my other apps :messenger, wechat etc but when using the AFR site it screws me around
a simple example:
i type "disagee" gets highlighted ..good..a suggested "disagree" pops up but when selected it adds a "d" at the end of "disagee" I end up with "disageed" as if the word start location was lost..sometimes I get more characters but only the final recommendation lenght..OK..but not starting from the word to replace start..well... but not always and a new suggestion appears which may or may not work.
there is nothing similar when I use the other sites..As an it guy I am puzzled as to why, maybe a cursor location i do not know what is specific to AFR text box.some of my posts are pure garbage as a result..and above the garbage content I give but that is my own issue:)
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
typing issues,
Joe I have specific issues when typing in AFR on my android phone.It basically adds a lot of garbage to my initial input and I wonder if anyone else has had the same issue.
All good on PC etc
but if I type on my phone, the spellcheck triggers on and it is a nightmare.I use gboard the google keyboard.all good in my other apps :messenger, wechat etc but when using the AFR site it screws me around
a simple example:
i type "disagee" gets highlighted ..good..a suggested "disagree" pops up but when selected it adds a "d" at the end of "disagee" I end up with "disageed" as if the word start location was lost..sometimes I get more characters but only the final recommendation lenght..OK..but not starting from the word to replace start..well... but not always and a new suggestion appears which may or may not work.
there is nothing similar when I use the other sites..As an it guy I am puzzled as to why, maybe a cursor location i do not know what is specific to AFR text box.some of my posts are pure garbage as a result..and above the garbage content I give but that is my own issue:)

Hi qldfrog, sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I've been out most of the day.

When you say "AFR" do you mean Australian Financial Review or just that you type "AFR" on the keyboard? Just trying to figure out what the problem is.
 
Joined
8 June 2008
Posts
9,664
Reactions
12,252
Hi qldfrog, sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I've been out most of the day.

When you say "AFR" do you mean Australian Financial Review or just that you type "AFR" on the keyboard? Just trying to figure out what the problem is.
ASF.. Sorry .. as you can see....
I changed the keyboard to an other Android keyboard:SwiftKey and the issue disappeared.. Same exact test worked as expected.
So I keep that keyboard and am happy, but still puzzled at the reason behind the weird behaviour To keep in mind if this issue pops again.
Thanks for the answer
 

Joe Blow

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
28 May 2004
Posts
10,398
Reactions
3,728
ASF.. Sorry .. as you can see....
I changed the keyboard to an other Android keyboard:SwiftKey and the issue disappeared.. Same exact test worked as expected.
So I keep that keyboard and am happy, but still puzzled at the reason behind the weird behaviour To keep in mind if this issue pops again.
Thanks for the answer

I'm glad you've found a solution for now. I'll do some checking and see if I can replicate the issue on my Android phone. If you could let me know what browser you were using that would assist.

Thanks.
 

bigdog

Retired many years ago
Joined
19 July 2006
Posts
7,125
Reactions
3,449
Joe
How do I view "General Chat" postings when clicking "Recent Posts"?

I use to be able to view in the past!
 
Top