Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Amibroker Auto Trading

Joined
21 March 2016
Posts
13
Reaction score
1
Hi There,

Is there any experts with Amibroker Autotrading?

Im lookingg to use it and wonders how it compares to Sierra Charts, Matlab etc?

Just come from Multicharts.net but want something bit more stable.

Alpha27
 

Wysiwyg

Everyone wants money
Joined
8 August 2006
Posts
8,424
Reaction score
267
I realise this is probably a one off post but to answer the question there isn't a lot of discussion or review of a fully functional Amibroker auto trader code. The barrier for most is the coding or the limited linked trading platforms in a world where plug n play is preferred. Maybe some day someone will pick up Amibroker and commercialise it as a system design to actual trading platform.
 
Joined
31 March 2012
Posts
413
Reaction score
19
I realise this is probably a one off post but

Yeah.

There is functional code examples in the AB library.
There is an auto-trading group at Yahoo. Docs etc.

That being said auto-trading requires (advanced) skills, skills, skills!
Auto trading is far away from playing games in kindergarden. If existing advanced skills are missing then don’t ever think of auto trading. It will end up in a nightmare no matter which platform. You also can’t expect to be a surgeon by asking others which tool to use next and at which location it has to be placed every time too. There you will even end up behind bars very quickly because I doubt you want your body being treated by an amateur making bloody minced pork out of you. So just like in every other professional field you need to have the education & knowledge & experience because you need to exactly know what will happen next when this or that action, trigger, … becomes true. Professionals don’t go to Internet forums asking how this or that button is pressed or how to code this or that or... They have gained knowledge at proper places already. It is always funny to see people without any advanced skills at all trying to compete against professional experts in a shark tank like future/stock/fx markets (it’s not just the try to compete which is funny but the actual funny thing is those day dreamers expect to profit with the help of their limited knowledge). Trying to compete with some black box code they don't have any inside knowledge about. Just too funny!

So

The barrier for most is the coding

And rightly so!
 
Joined
13 June 2007
Posts
838
Reaction score
128
Greetings --

I worked at a trading company that had the trading platform (on the broker's site) connected to the signal generation platform (on the trader's site).

We had backup and redundancy of everything. Backup power, second source of data, redundant computers, telephone contact with people at the brokers, etc. Whenever there was any position on, or any order open that could result in a position being taken, there were at least two trader / operators in the trading room.

The coding was relatively easy. The operations less so. We found that we regularly needed the redundancy, backup equipment, and on-duty staff.

Best,
Howard
 
Joined
21 March 2016
Posts
13
Reaction score
1
Has any only setup the IB controller to automate with interactive brokers - to me this seem the best backtesting platform - and it be great if you could easily link it to interactive brokers and let it run on a simulation account to test before going live.

I see there are other automate trading options out of india with Amibroker but I use IB so keen to use this, any thoughts what does Nick radge use I believe they automate?
 
Joined
30 June 2007
Posts
6,175
Reaction score
622
Has any only setup the IB controller to automate with interactive brokers - to me this seem the best backtesting platform - and it be great if you could easily link it to interactive brokers and let it run on a simulation account to test before going live.

I see there are other automate trading options out of india with Amibroker but I use IB so keen to use this, any thoughts what does Nick radge use I believe they automate?

Radge's own personal accounts require daily work. If you want 'set and forget', a managed fund is the way to go. Or FA-based investing.
 

Trembling Hand

Can be found on the bid
Joined
10 June 2007
Posts
8,852
Reaction score
199
Why the hostility GB? You seem to be acting like an outright racist anytime you perceive someone being from India. Thats totally not cool.
 
Joined
13 September 2013
Posts
441
Reaction score
242
I see there are other automate trading options out of india with Amibroker but I use IB so keen to use this, any thoughts what does Nick radge use I believe they automate?

You can buy a API from Nick that connects with IB and monitors exposure during the day and will cancel and excess orders that have been filled.

Ie you have 6 open positions and your system allows for a max of 10. You have 15 buy signals for the next day to be filled at a LMT order. You don't know which ones will get filled so once the remaining 4 positions are filled the API will cancel remaining orders, thus limiting you exposure.

You just upload a csv from amibroker into the api send the orders then you're done.

Works well
 
Joined
21 March 2016
Posts
13
Reaction score
1
Why the hostility GB? You seem to be acting like an outright racist anytime you perceive someone being from India. Thats totally not cool.

CHILL I have lot's of Indian friends and love that lots of Indians use Amibroker.
I just use IB as a broker and I haven't found many people that do use IB in India to automate their trading or the world!

I read a great article from a Indian Amibroker user on all the automated software options but they look like there focussed on the indian stock market brokers, sadly.
 
Joined
21 March 2016
Posts
13
Reaction score
1
You can buy a API from Nick that connects with IB and monitors exposure during the day and will cancel and excess orders that have been filled.

Ie you have 6 open positions and your system allows for a max of 10. You have 15 buy signals for the next day to be filled at a LMT order. You don't know which ones will get filled so once the remaining 4 positions are filled the API will cancel remaining orders, thus limiting you exposure.

You just upload a csv from amibroker into the api send the orders then you're done.

Works well


Hi Roller,

That sounds great so can you have it when your indicators indicate a entry it enters the trade and when indicates a exit it exits?

I would like to know if it can see the IB account balance and can say allocate 10% each day to the watchlist and the watchlist is ranked by volume so number 1 is most liquid.
 
Joined
13 September 2013
Posts
441
Reaction score
242
Hi Roller,

That sounds great so can you have it when your indicators indicate a entry it enters the trade and when indicates a exit it exits?

I would like to know if it can see the IB account balance and can say allocate 10% each day to the watchlist and the watchlist is ranked by volume so number 1 is most liquid.

The process is as follows -

Run a exploration, which has been coded in a certain configuration so the exported csv matches up with the fields for the api. ---> upload into the api, set the number of positions to fill and send the orders

So my systems are all EOD i get a signal from my exploration at night then place the trades with the api for the next day. It's not sending a buy order at specific times when a certain indicator says so. It's designed for eod systems not intraday.

All position sizing is done in Amibroker not the api, you maybe able to contact the developer to add custom metrics etc.
 
Top