• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

Advice on bad market day

Discussion in 'Beginner's Lounge' started by Init, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Init

Init

I am relatively new to investing and have only started to buy shares in the last few months (all ASX) after a lot of reading. After today everything is in the red including my portfolio which is understandable given the massive drop seen across the board today.

Given that my share prices have dropped, I would usually sift through the ones not doing well and reevaluate my position on those shares, however given that everything tanked at once is it even the fault of any company I have invested in? That is to say, on days like this is it worth analysing any single company to reevaluate your opinion on their viability or do you simply put it down to the market as a whole and keep your position?

I know some people have risk rules such as "if company XYZ goes red by 10% then I sell". Do you still apply these rules when the market drops like today?

2. notting

notting

Depends what kind of time frame you intended to hold the stocks for in the first place.
    Short term traders need stops so they can buy something else that they hope is going to go up or down faster. Longer term not so much unless they see a fundamental change in the business.

luutzu likes this.
  3. Primate23

Primate23

In a self organised critical system such as the stock market, there will be days when it goes up, and days when it goes down. If this was not the case, then it would signal that something was wrong with the system, and I'd be getting scared.