Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

A Very Confused Student

Reactions
Hey Guys,

I'm a student from NZ and I've been teaching myself about the markets etc for about 18 months when I've had the time. I would say that I'm pretty clued up about how the markets operate and about trading strategies etc.

What I want to ask though is where/what trading method/strategy/platform would you recommend? I understand that its got alot to do with your own personal situation, risk tolerance and all that sort of stuff, but I guess I'm just rather overwhelmed by it all.

I mean I could trade solely on fundamentals, solely on TA, combination of the two, invest in riskier high growth stocks, look for short term hiccups in a company and take advantage of those (I have a friend who only invests after disasters and its worked pretty well for him - BP, HPQ, Fletcher Building in NZ after the Christchurch Earthquake.), High div yield stocks, I've even considered CFD trading.

Any advice from the seasoned pros would be much appreciated =)

Benj

So_Cynical

The Contrarian Averager
Reactions
I mean I could trade solely on fundamentals, solely on TA, combination of the two, invest in riskier high growth stocks, look for short term hiccups in a company and take advantage of those (I have a friend who only invests after disasters and its worked pretty well for him - BP, HPQ, Fletcher Building in NZ after the Christchurch Earthquake.), High div yield stocks, I've even considered CFD trading.

Any advice from the seasoned pros would be much appreciated =)

Benj

You have to find a method that your comfortable with, that's compatible with your personality...have you paper traded for a while?

Reactions
I have been paper trading, switching between TA and Fundamentals and I've been paper trading CFDs for a few months now.