• Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Hello and welcome to Aussie Stock Forums!

To gain full access you must register. Registration is free and takes only a few seconds to complete.

Already a member? Log in here.

A few questions from a first time investor (Any advice is appreciated)

Discussion in 'Beginner's Lounge' started by Stocks In Socks, Jul 14, 2016.

1. Stocks In Socks

Stocks In Socks

So i'll be investing for the first time in august with a small amount money (around 5 thousand at most) and iv spent some time getting to know some of the market on ASX and the terms associated with investing however being self taught i'm still not completely sure of how sound some investment choices might be therefore any information or guidance is much appreciated

1) is west farmer a good investment due to it's stability, dividend yield and potential for growth due to the poor performance of competition in the same sector such as woolworths. Or is investing in GEM EDUCATION who have a higher dividend percentage a more rewarding alternative?

2) What are some companies in the private health sector or utilities sector to invest in and are they worth a investment

3) are commodities a reliable investment currently? and if so on the ASX specifically is the mining sector showing signs of bouncing back or is this sector still a gamble reliant of exportation trend? Alternatively does Australia have another commodities sector worth investing in like agriculture that is showing strong results? if so what are these companies

These three questions are currently guiding my investment ideas and the choices i'm planning to make come august. Being a novice any information is EXTREMELY appreciated as i'm sure being self taught so far iv either skimmed over important details or might have miss-interpreted something.

Thanks for the help!! :):)

2. So_Cynical

So_Cynical The Contrarian Averager