Optus brings CMC Markets down - Aussie Stock Forums

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Default Optus brings CMC Markets down

    I tried to start "marketmaker" this morning. It failed to start with the error "failed to contact update server".

    CMC Markets said the problem was with Optus blocking
    their update server on

    Tracing route to over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
    2 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms dslgw- []
    3 15 ms 21 ms 15 ms mas4-
    vl600.gw.optusnet.com.au []
    4 15 ms 20 ms 16 ms mas3-ge9-
    3.gw.optusnet.com.au []
    5 162 ms 161 ms 161 ms
    6 161 ms 162 ms 161 ms ge1-
    2.2.cr01.lax03.pccwbtn.net []
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.

    Which shows the optus routers could not find the update server.

    According to CMC Markets the error only appeared on clients having Optus networks and by the afternoon "many" irate clients were complaining.

    The reason I am posting this is to invite a response from anyone affected.

    Optus told me "we can't help you" and
    "this is outside my area of responsibility" and
    "you have to write a letter to customer relations in South Australia"

  2. #2
    Formerly known as 'Tekmann' SevenFX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Sunny Melbourne

    Default Re: Optus brings CMC Markets Down

    Hi & Welcom Cferrero,

    I tried a tracert 4 you but got timeouts....however didn't get when I did a ping...????

    I'm with Telstra and pings ok, but tracerts don't work on any site for that matter.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.


    Tracing route to over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * ^C


    Pinging with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from bytes=32 time=155ms TTL=112
    Reply from bytes=32 time=156ms TTL=112
    Reply from bytes=32 time=153ms TTL=112
    Reply from bytes=32 time=162ms TTL=112

    Ping statistics for
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 153ms, Maximum = 162ms, Average = 156ms

    Sorry not much help.
    Don't Take Anyone's Advice, Except your OWN.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Optus brings CMC Markets Down

    The optus site (requires login) has this message:

    Message posted at: 2007-01-04 12:14
    What: Slows to sites in Asia
    When: Current
    Duration: Ongoing
    Impact: Due to an earthquake on 27th December 2006 in Taiwan, cabling beyond the Optusnet Network, which connects China, Taiwan, Japan, Korea, The Phillipines, Hong Kong, Thailand, Malaysia & Singapore has been cut. This has caused slows to these countries.

    Now Optus customer service is not aware or is not saying anything about earthquakes.

    But what I think is that Optus is routing traffic to a broken

    I also discovered that I can't access Singapore sites via optusnet.

    The point is; why don't they tell me what is going on when I call them and is it really possible that Singapore is cut off from the internet via Optus. Isn't Optus owned by Singtel? and are all their links are cut?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Optus brings CMC Markets Down

    That IP appears to be based in HK, so that's probably the likely cause. There are ways around it, depending on resources you have and how desparate you are to access it.

    Nevermind, looks like is behind Optus routers, but it appears to be fixed now?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Optus brings CMC Markets Down

    No and I cannot reach the following sites either

    The official website of the Government of Singapore

    Singapore Changi International www.changi.airport.com.sg/

    Stock Exchange of SingaporeStock quotes, charts, www.ses.com.sg/

    Welcome to Singapore Department of www.singstat.gov.sg/

    Welcome to Singapore Department of statistics

    I suppose no site ending in .sg can be reached from Optus Networks.

    But listening to Optus support there is no problem.

Similar Threads

  1. IG Markets, CMC or GFT for CFDs?
    By chode84 in forum Derivatives
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 24th-October-2011, 06:26 AM
  2. Crisis meetings at CMC Markets
    By 9Dragons in forum Brokers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th-November-2008, 12:13 AM
  3. CMC Markets
    By akka in forum Brokers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th-October-2008, 12:56 PM
  4. Trading options through CMC Markets
    By winsonlee in forum Derivatives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th-August-2008, 01:46 AM
  5. How safe is CMC Markets?
    By Woroni in forum Brokers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31st-March-2008, 06:47 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Aussie Stock Forums