Dipping my Toes - Aussie Stock Forums

Thread: Dipping my Toes

Default Dipping my Toes

Hi everyone,

This is my first time here, and I'm very new to investing in terms of stock, however I have been quite interested in the whole dynamics of it all for quite a long time.

I've been looking into investing in stocks, but being new to this, as well as having somewhat limited capital as a 19 year old university student, I was hoping for some advice for someone who is looking to start out.

I've been told many times to start investing when young, and so, I have got most of my money from scholarships and such in a savings account with a decent amount of interest of 4.01% pa.

On top of this, I'd like to purchase some stocks to invest in the long run also, but I'm not sure how much to invest in order to make it worth the risk.

Would around $500 be an okay starting investment for someone around my age looking to dip his toes into the water? I'd probably be investing in WES, WOW and possibly BHP, although I still need to do some more research.

The stock market seems to have a steep learning curve for someone new, but I'm determined to try my hand at it.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Default Re: Dipping my Toes