Mortgage Broking Career Outlook? - Aussie Stock Forums

Default Mortgage Broking Career Outlook?

I was wondering if there is still any bucks to be made as mortgage broker? I'm currently studying a degree at the moment via distance learning, and I was playing with the idea of doing the courses required to becoming a mortgage broker, and hopefully being able to write a few loans for a little bit of income? Does this sound feasible or is it a foolish idea?

If anybody with any experience on the topic has some input that would be very much appreciated.

Default Re: Mortgage Broking Career Outlook?

The next market is going to be selling in market where there are no buyers, the best thing is to contact banks and see about looking after there forecloser properties.
    The OZ market is where USA was in 2007/8

My Dad used to do mortgage and insurance broking as an independant business - did OK.

Definitely worth thinking about if you want to go that way.

Run like the wind Bullseye and dont look back at Sodom.

This is my opinon.. I dont think its worth doing on the side.. You are wasting your time and wont make enough $ to make it or do it worth while. It is worth doing full time.

I would say this is possible the best career lifestyle wise you can get yourself into ..
    I have outlined it as I see it.. I havent worked in the industry but have in realestate and also have many colleagues in broking..

The Pros -

1.) Work for self
    2.) Easy work.. (building client base is the hard part)
    3.) Residual income with no real maintenance / ongoing work
    4.) Work from home, very low overheads
    5.) Lifestyle choice, you can head away on holidays etc whenever you like etc for as long as you like, keep getting residual income and very little maintenance of your business whilst away required. Can refer to associate if you wish whilst away..