Bonds? - Aussie Stock Forums

Thread: Bonds?

Default Bonds?

I'm relatively new to the sharemarket and have a small portfolio, say about 4k. I've got a spare $2500 this week and I've been doing a lot of research paper trading and viewing a lot of charts. It seems to me for someone who is relatively inexperience it is hard to make a buck at the present time.

So i was just wondering should i buy into a government bond or something like that? What kind of returns do i get? Also I'm thinking of purchasing some gold stocks, like RMS.

Am i a loony and a massive pessimist for buying bonds or gold stocks at the present time or should i just continue sifting through charts and finding a decent stock?

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Bonds?

First of all noone can give out financial advise without proper qualifications. Anyway, what kind of investments were you looking for, long term, short term, safe capital gains etc, there are many kinds of investments and trades that you can attempt even with that small amount. My advice would be to read more and keep learning for a while, and only enter the stock market when you can answer all the questions you listed yourself.

After reviewing my situation, i need the liquidity that shares can provide, instead of my money being stuck in a bonds for 1+ years.

I'm thinking i will purchase RMS and maybe another gold stock. This will hold me in good stead if the market does have a double dip recession.

As has already been said, you need to think about what type of results you expect to get from you investing.

Set some realistic goals and then learn as much as you can about some different asset classes so that you can piece together a portfolio of investments that has a good chance of meeting your expectations.