Most profitable trade - Aussie Stock Forums

Default Most profitable trade

Lets discuss whats the most profitable trade in shares you have made. Did you expect these results or were just amazed when cashed it.

Default Re: Most profitable trade

3 yrs ago I started trading the method which is now called techtrader.

All testing showed that un leveraged it should return around 26% a year.
    Leveraged by Margin at say 2.5X thats around 65% on capital invested.

Now 3 yrs later I closed all positions about 8 weeks ago. (The same System is still being traded live for those on Reefcap (which is off line at the moment waiting for Mr Radges ASIC certification) returns are currently $227,000

Less starting capital of $30,000 and leveraged borrowed funds $70,000.
    So on the $30,000 startong capital I now have $127,000 profit or 423% over 3 yrs. My own personal portfolio was close to this (388%).
    So it exceeded all expectations----and I'm not alone I know of 16 people using the method or a derivative of it and they have had similar returns.

Forgetting interest and brokerage as well as dividends---which are close to evening out.

I know why we were able to achieve better and I also know (Through more testing) how I think even more can be made by better position sizing and an Index based timer for being in or out of the market.

Those interested in the sharp downturn and our drawdown---the method lost approx $30k of the (Then ) $229,000 balance. As can be seen most has been recovered but as of today think about $6000 will be snatched back.

Biggest returns of over 200-300% were and are as some are still held (some 400%+).
    CTB,(UTB,QBE TOL),ALL,SFE PMM ANN.(In brackets---still held)

The most pleasing thing for me is the sustained time period and number of high profit trades,rather than one hit wonders---mind you they can be nice too.

Had $4600 off $660 on an options trade once-----BIL

But wont talk about the $20K losses over the next 3 yrs.