Fund Managers or DIY? - Aussie Stock Forums

Default Fund Managers or DIY?

Hi there punters,

I bought into fund managers some time ago with the help of a financial advisor and have added more since then. I now have about nine in a diversified portfolio.

I am learning more about how to invest and i am considering D.I.Y. on a small scale until i know more about it.

I have sacked my current financial advisor as he is telling me to hold on for the long term anyway. I can't see any sense in paying lots of money for him when the fund managers and a multimanager are doing the work. I have eliminated the middle man and I am able to basically manage my investment without him.

I am considering taking my recent action further and investing in shares directly without fund managers and financial advisors taking a big slice of the action. However I am not experienced or knowledgeable enough yet to manage my investments completely on my own without any fund managers.

Does anyone have any thoughts regarding using fund managers or directly investing in the stock market?

Mod: Call me Dendrobranchiata prawn_86's Avatar
    Los Angeles
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Fund Managers or D.I.Y.?

Quote Originally Posted by light bearer View Post
    Does anyone have any thoughts regarding using fund managers or directly investing in the stock market?
    Im in a rush so cant go into detail, but i think you will find that virtually everyone here invests directly, most directly into shares, but some also own funds.

Most of the research suggests that, on average, over the long term fund managers do not better than the index (at best), so there is a fair arguement for just buying an index fund...

Although i want a job as a fund manager eventually so perhaps you should keep them

Default Re: Fund Managers or DIY?

DIY all the way! The only fund I would consider investing in is Platinum International.