Quantcast Dividend eligibility: How long do you have to hold? - Aussie Stock Forums

Default Dividend eligibility: How long do you have to hold?

Hi all , I am new to this and its probably been answered before , but how long do you have to hold a share before being eligable for the dividend ?

For example , today is the 4th , TOL (Toll Holdings) ex date is the 6th ,if I buy them now do I get the div.

If thats the case , do many stocks get sold off soon after the div is paid ?

Thanks in advance

Default Re: How long do you have to hold a share ?

Quote Originally Posted by granev View Post
    Hi all , I am new to this and its probably been answered before , but how long do you have to hold a share before being eligable for the dividend ?

For example , today is the 4th , TOL (Toll Holdings) ex date is the 6th ,if I buy them now do I get the div.

If thats the case , do many stocks get sold off soon after the div is paid ?

Thanks in advance
    If you buy them now Im pretty sure you get the div.

I think after the ex div date, the stocks usually drops by the div amount.
    Rebel Leader - IT'S A TRAP!

Mod: Call me Dendrobranchiata prawn_86's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Dividend eligibility: How long do you have to hold?

You need to buy them before the ex div and hold to the record date

Thanks for that

If the ex div date is 6/3 , and the payment date is 3/4 , then what is the record date ?

You need to own the shares at the close of trade the day before they go ex-div. If you sell them on the ex-div day or after you are still entitled to the dividend.

http://www.asx.com.au/products/share...vidend%20dates

The ex-div date is all that matters. You can buy on the day before ex-div date, sell the next day, and the dividend will be sent to you.

Thank you all

Blog Entries

WAAAIIIIIIITTTT!

You forgot about the 45 day holding rule.

For full info check here http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/co...tm&page=12&H12