Using MAC to trade online/live feeds - Aussie Stock Forums

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    Hello. my first post (newbie). Just subscribed to westpac brokings' TRADER PRO for live qoutes, etc. I found that its not working well with my mac system. Anyone using a live qoute system that is supported by mac? Cheers

  2. #2

    Default Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    If you have a relatively new Mac you can run windows on it using Boot Camp or Parallels. That way your Mac becomes a PC and you won't have any compatability issues.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    excellent! thanks rockhoundnz

  4. #4

    Default Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    I'm using parallels, as etrade doesn't support Safari. Works fine.

  5. #5

    Smile Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    Firstly, you do not need Westpac Trader Pro to access live streaming quotes, just an ordinary trading account. Save some $$$$

    Run Parallels on Mac Desktop to be able to use Windoze XP in its own little window on your Mac system.

    Then download using Windows XP - Explorer a windows program called Quotetracker. Install that.

    Inside Quotetracker under datasources/proxy is a sub-menu where you can login straight into Westpac's live quotes using your Westpac Login/Password.

    Be sure to set the correct ASX trading times and Time Zone offset.

    Also make sure once you have entered ASX stock codes you also right click and bring up "Raw Data" for live trade history data and also "Level II/Market Depth" for Market Depth again use the Westpac Server for this.
    These are in a right click mouse sub-menu once you hover over an ASX code.

    The only problem your will find is that once Quotetracker is logged into the Westpac server you will have to hit the "Manual" button top left of Quotetracker window to stop "auto" live streaming. And then log into the Westpac broking account again in Mac Safari to do any trading.

    There is a workaround for this problem, but no-one seems to want to post it on the forum.

    From there you can also stream live data from Quotetracker into a windows charting program such as FCharts Pro for Intraday trading.

    Good bang for the buck live trading.
    Cheaper still would be Interactive Brokers using the above combination.


  6. #6

    Default Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    Right on wrxtacy, thanks a hoot. Also, after researching VM's think I'm leaning towards VMware fusion 2. Early version's available under 40 bux (with rebate) then free uprade to v2 is free.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Using MAC to trade online/live feeds

    Have you tried using Firefox rather than Safari. My broker suggested this. Internet explorer doesn't seem to work on Macs anymore

Similar Threads

  1. Trade Station and Trade the Markets
    By DB008 in forum Software and Data
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 21st-May-2008, 11:37 PM
  2. Trade Manager Software
    By Stede in forum Software and Data
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th-November-2007, 01:39 PM
  3. Where can I trade foreign exchange?
    By overule in forum Forex
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 28th-October-2007, 03:36 AM
  4. Brokers Australians can trade US and other markets with?
    By vicb in forum International Markets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th-July-2007, 08:49 PM
  5. The collar spread trade
    By Hopeful in forum Derivatives
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19th-December-2006, 04:52 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Aussie Stock Forums